Members Welcome New Board

The Annual General Meeting of the OCAC saw the acclamation of four new Board members, all of whom have joined the arts council within the last year. The new directors are Hella Prochaska, Shirley Nilsson, Darryl Mackenzie (of Oliver and District Heritage Society) and Craig Rusinek (of Nature’s Elements Jewelry). Returning OCAC president Esther Brown described the new Board as “a balance, a perfect mix” of experienced members and fresh ideas.

Prochaska, Nilsson, Mackenzie and Rusinek join returning Board members: Esther Brown (President), Penelope Johnson (Vice President), Jack Bennest (Treasurer), Penny Ruddy (Secretary), and directors Sally Franks, Brian Mapplebeck, Jennifer Mapplebeck, and Steve Staresina.

Retiring from the Board this year are Stephanie Salsnek (past Vice President), Heather Fink, Linda Blaschuk, and Jan Kreut. President Esther Brown thanked them for their years of dedicated service. All four remain active members of the OCAC, providing valuable contrinutions on many committees and projects.

In the photo above, the newly acclaimed president cuts the Volunteer Appreciation cake following the AGM. Sage Valley Voices Choir representative Linda Nunweiler looks on. A closeup of the cake is below. A BIG “thank you” to all our volunteers!

Photo credits: Thea Haubrich, of Twin Lakes Encaustic Art